Chicken Scratch (The Sisters, Texas Mystery Series Book 1) by Becki Willis – Review by Maura Harper

Chicken Scratch (The Sisters, Texas #1)Chicken Scratch by Becki Willis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5 stars

When I saw that this was a copy mystery, I was expecting something similar to “Murder She Wrote” or something as sweet. Within the first 10 pages we learned the gruesome way someone died. BLECH I have never been in, nor will I now ever go into a chicken house. Come to think of it, I’m not sure I want to ever eat chicken after reading the workings of a chicken (slaughter) house. Has anyone ever survived on chocolate alone? I digress…

CHICKEN SCRATCH is the first book in “The Sisters, Texas Mystery Series” and it is a full set up on who Madison is and how she has found herself in the precarious position she is in. Madison ends up back in Juliet, Texas “the most boring town in the state of Texas” to live with her grandmother after a few life events left Madison and her children to fend for themselves in life.

The book has a mystery, some humor, great friends and familiar relationships. Madison and her best friend Genny definitely have a “Laverne and Shirley” vibe to them. “I always envisioned (personal shopping) as being a bit glitzier. I thought when you were a personal shopping, you got to buy things like fur coats and plush furnishings… So far, you’ve been stuck buying hearing aids supplies and bladder control pads.”

There is a lot that goes on in the story and the protagonist certainly finds herself in some interesting, death defying situations. I didn’t “bond” with her for some reason but it could be the space I am in.

Not everything is wrapped in a bow at the end, so I’m sure there is more high-jinx to come in the next book.

Review by @mauraharper

View all my reviews

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *