Awakening Avery (Second Chance Romance Series Book #3) by Laurie Lewis – Review by Angela Hayes

4 Stars


Awakening Avery is the third book in the Second Chance Romance Series by Laurie Lewis. I have read a few of Ms. Lewis’s books now and I can always count on her to give me something to sink my teeth into- something that will move me, and something that will keep me well and truly entertained. I have come into this series by reading the third book first- I know, I am a bit backward lol. Needless to say, that this book can be read as a standalone, but it has intrigued me enough to want to know what happened in those first two books, so I will definitely be going back to read them in the near future.

I found this to be quite a thought-provoking story, as I could really relate to Avery and her stage in life- so it really got me thinking about what I would do and how I would cope given the same circumstances that Avery finds herself in. Because I am not so sure I would do very well at all. Which makes me admire Avery all the more for her strength, even as she struggled with depression, grief, feeling lost and somewhat stuck- and unable to move forward. But, she does just that- and it’s through this wonderful story that we get to accompany her on this journey to find herself, and begin to ‘live’ again.

As always, Ms. Lewis writes characters who really make the story special- the story itself is interesting- but it’s the characters who really make this story- they are portrayed in such a way that the story becomes ‘real’… entirely believable, and very relatable.

A wonderful second chances story.


Thank you, Ms. Lewis!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *