Posts

Killer Lawyer (Jake Wolfe Book 3) by Mark Nolan – Review by Emily Walsh

Killer LawyerKiller Lawyer
ByMark Nolan
My Rating: 4 of 5 stars

Killer Lawyer (Jake Wolfe Book 3) by Mark Nolan was a pretty okay read that has many heart stopping moments.

My first read by this author, I didn’t know what I was getting into. I will say that this book is part of a series, and though this book can be read as a standalone, I did find that there were many things, in regards to character background, development, and past plots; that at times made me feel lost. So I highly suggest reading the other books before this one.

As much as I enjoyed this book, I have a mixed review for you.

This was for me, a slow read, that was a little all over the place. I felt like there were too many sub-plots, too much non-essential information, and way too much overexplaining. The lulls between action were dull, too long, and frankly I got a little bored. To be blunt, I got some Issues with Sara. Now that could have come from me jumping into this series at book 3, but man oh man, she got on my nerves. I don’t like when ultimatums are given, and frankly I found the way she acted towards Jake was immature and closed minded. There has to be give and take, and to make a relationship work, compromise is needed, and one person should not have to give up their entire life/job, when the other party isn’t willing or won’t do the same. I’m a serving member, and maybe I’m pulling at old wounds, but that whole situation was, you could say, triggering for me.

On to the good.

I have a deep love for the amount of research that when into this book. I’m talking the little things, one that got me was the “hurry up and wait.” It’s a common military situation, one I have been in many times. Nothing like to have to show up for 0530, only to be told you’re on standby, but you can’t relax because you might have to jump into action at a moments notice… three hours later and you’re still “on standby“… so yeah, that one made me chuckle.

When the action got underway it was suspenseful, heart stopping, and detailed. I like the multi POV, especially when the killer was narrating. It was a creepy look inside his twisted head, and added a darker, almost panic like layer, that offset the slower parts of this book. I like all the characters, their connections to Jake and even though they gave him greef, you could feel the respect they had for him.

Overall this book is well written, engaging and intriguing. It could use a hair cut, to get rid of some of the unnecessary bulk and filler, but in the long run, I very much enjoyed my time reading this thriller and it gets my high recommendation and my stamp of approval.

Happy Reading.

– Review by @eawalsh

View all my reviews

Written in the Stars (Fallen Eagles MC Book 2) by T. Birmingham – Review by Emily Walsh

Written in the Stars (Fallen Eagles MC Book 2)Written in the Stars
ByT. Birmingham
My Rating: 5 of 5 stars

Written in the Stars (Fallen Eagles MC Book 2) by T. Birmingham was an addicting read that will hook you from start to finish.

My First read by this author, I went in blind and man am I happy I did, well I have one regret, I regret not reading the first book. Though this can be read as a standalone, you can tell there are overlapping characters and things from that first book that would have helped me in this one in regards to character development and background. So don’t be like me and get that first book.

This book is more than a romance, it has a spine tingly murder mystery that plays quiet the roll, it’s actually the opening scene. Telling you right away that this book isn’t going to be light hearted. That alone pulled me in hard, and hooked me. I love me a good thriller and this book delivered. It not only gives you dark mystery, it gives you a serial killer to chase, as well as a growing love stories that somehow gets intertangled in it. This story has a little bit of everything, with rich, engaging writing and lush detail, you will get trapped in this stunningly real world that T. Birmingham has created.

Overall, and if you haven’t guessed, this book gets my super high recommendation and my stamp of approval.

Happy Reading

-Review by @eawalsh

View all my reviews

Shadow’s Keep by Meghan O’Flynn

 ~  ~  ~  ~ BOOK SPOTLIGHT ~  ~  ~  ~  ~
Shadow’s Keep by Meghan O’Flynn
BUY NOW – https://amzn.to/2Lyukzc
#ShadowsKeep #MeghanO’Flynn #CrimeThriller #MustRead
Hosted by: Itsy Bitsy Book Bits
Genre – Crime Thriller
Page Count – 395 pages
Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40217664-shadow-s-keep

”Dark and intense, with an M. Night Shyamalan-level twist.”
~Kristen Mae, bestselling author of the Conch Garden series

OLD SINS. NEW BLOOD.

Deputy Sheriff William Shannahan doesn’t feel like a detective, at least not like the ones he admires on TV. Not that he needs to be; the small town of Graybel, Mississippi, is a peaceful place, with acres of farmland, neighbors who always take care of their own, and noise from the outside world muted by a hundred miles of forest.

That silence is about to be broken.

When a child is found dead in the woods, the medical examiner deems it a dog attack. But the paw prints belong to something far larger than any creature in the Mississippi forests, and what animal would remove the victim’s eyes? Though no one believes him, William can’t shake the feeling that a human killer lurks in the shadowed woods.
And his girlfriend, Cassie, has a son the same age as the victim.

Cassie Parker was raised amid horrors she’s long pushed from her mind, but her scars won’t let her forget. Nor do the hallucinations, dreams so vivid she can feel and smell and taste them. And no one is more terrified than Cassie when another victim is found mauled to death—because this body has been drained of blood. She knows exactly what type of person would sacrifice a child, and why they’re after hers. But how can she explain it to William?

This is William’s chance to act like a detective, to protect the woman and child he’s desperate to save. Pushing back against prejudice and presumption, he uncovers a trail of cruelty that spans decades, but each clue brings him closer to a truth more horrifying than killer beasts in the forest. For concealed beneath small-town politics is knowledge that will shatter everything he knows to be true about his town—and the people in it.

A compulsively readable thriller in the vein of Cujo, The Girl on the Train, and M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village, Shadow’s Keep is a mind-bending exploration of obsession, desperation, and how far we’ll go to protect those we love.

~ AMAZON ~ IBOOKS ~ BARNES AND NOBLE ~ KOBO ~ GOOGLE PLAY ~

Meghan O’Flynn is a clinical therapist, writer, artist, wife, and mom. She adores her amazing little boys, dark chocolate, tea, dirty jokes, and back rubs with no strings attached, in that order. Meghan is the bestselling author of The Jilted, Shadow’s Keep, and the Ash Park series—which includes Famished, Conviction, Repressed, Hidden and Redemption—and has penned a number of short stories including “Crimson Snow” and “Alien Landscape.” She is frankly amazed that her wonderful husband still agrees to live with her after reading them and even more shocked that he seems to sleep soundly.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW WITH MEGHAN O’FLYNN

LIVE JANUARY 8th & 9th CLICK HERE FOR GIVEAWAY

~ FACEBOOK ~ INSTAGRAM ~

WEBSITE ~ FACEBOOK ~ TWITTER ~ PINTEREST ~ YOUTUBE ~ INSTAGRAMFACEBOOK GROUP

 

Redemption An Ash Park Novel, Book 5, by Meghan O’Flynn – Review by Madison Degraffenreid

Redemption (Ash Park, #5)Redemption by Meghan O’Flynn
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Redemption by Meghan O’Flynn An Ash Park Novel Book 5

5-Star Novel

Out of all of the Ash Park Novels this one by far is my favorite. Hannah Montgomery disappeared in the first book after escaping death from the Looking Glass Killer. She is discovered by Detective Petrosky and Detective Scott. She shares that she may have info on the person who killed Petrosky’s daughter so instead of hauling her in for questioning he provided her a safe place to stay.

  1. I loved Hannah being back in this novel. I really liked her character in the first book. The author never ceases to amaze me with the detail in her books. I also like that Petrosky seemed to be remade into a better man with this novel. This novel was also an emotional one but very enjoyable. I thought I had it figured out toward the end but there was a change I did not foresee.View all my reviews

The Plot by Melinda De Ross

 ~  ~  ~  ~ BOOK SPOTLIGHT ~  ~  ~  ~  ~
THE PLOT by Melinda De Ross
BUY NOW – https://amzn.to/2Eh3hIx
#ThePlot #MelindaDeRoss #RomanticSuspense #Crime
Hosted by Itsy Bitsy Book Bits

AN UNCONVENTIONAL ROMANCE
At eighteen, Yoko Hirano falls prey to a human trafficking organization and is forced into a lifestyle nightmares are made of. When the young Japanese girl escapes, her only focus is exacting revenge and saving other girls from the same fate by bringing down Michael Chen, the powerful mobster who destroyed her innocence.

BETWEEN TWO MISFITS
Four years later she meets antiques dealer Mark Chandler, the only man who ever treated her with respect. Though she is torn by her unfamiliar feelings for him, Yoko’s grand scheme doesn’t involve falling in love, and a man like Mark would never want her if he discovered her past. What she doesn’t know is that he has his own dark secrets…

BROUGHT TOGETHER BY LOVE AND REVENGE
Mark never thought he could lose his head over a woman, but the haunted eyes of his beautiful new employee fill his soul with desire and tenderness. When he learns about what had happened to her, his vengeance knows no limits. Nor does his resolve to help her heal and discover love.

BUY LINKS

AMAZON

iTunes

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Google Play

Smashwords

TEASERS

About Melinda De Ross

Melinda De Ross is an international author of Romanian origin. She writes in two languages, and her books combine the elegance specific to the European style with the modern appeal of the American culture. She has a Law degree and has been a professional target shooter for over a decade. Her favorite genre to read and write in is Romance, and anytime she prefers to watch a classic movie instead of going to a noisy club.

Social Media Links

~ Website ~ Amazon ~ BookBubFacebook ~ Twitter ~ Goodreads ~