Posts

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Maura Harper

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

SCARLET FEVER is one of those books that pulled me in from the very beginning. Each chapter is quick and to the point. I found myself visualizing the words as I was reading this story.

In addition to visualizing, I could “hear” their voices as I read. The female antagonist sounds like Kathleen Turner and the male protagonist sounds like Bob Hoskins.

The story is full of suspense and had a wonderful ebb and flow to it

I absolutely recommend this story

Review by @mauraharper

View all my reviews

The Girls across the Bay (The Knox and Sheppard Mysteries, Book 1) by Emerald O’Brien – Review by Liz Vrchota

The Girls Across The Bay (Knox and Sheppard, #1)The Girls Across The Bay by Emerald O’Brien
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Girls Across The Bay from Emerald O’Brien was a toss up for me most of the way through. I absolutely adore O’Brien’s writing and several of her previous books. This one was a bit difficult for me though. I adored the concept and the final way things turned out, but the reading was a tad confusing for myself at times. Don’t get me wrong I fully feel that the story itself is worthy of four stars easily. It just has to be said that this is wordy. So much so that at times I often confused the sisters dialogue and well just the two in general. I usually love dual POV reads because it gives the insight into each character. This did so but it was so much that at times I couldn’t keep it straight.

The story and mystery itself was intriguing. I loved the background it was set against and felt transformed there on the bay myself. The complex mystery that is woven is on point in suspense and intrigue and kept me reading when I got frustrated. This is typical of O’Brien though, as she really knows how to weave a suspenseful storyline. I will definitely be back for more with book two.

Review by @lizaileen
View all my reviews

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Tausha Treadway

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Scarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever. I loved this book. Its similar to the old PI novels with an old grouchy PI and a beautiful lady. This is the story of Ex Cop Johnny Delarosa who is now a Private Detective and has pretty much seen and heard it all. One day a beautiful read headed mystery woman, Claire Dixon walks into his bar and gives him $20,000 as a retainer to find 2 million dollars that was due her Mom. Only thing is the money is missing Mob Money because her mother was married to a Mob guy. When Johnny starts looking for the money lots of shady characters come out and dealing with the Mob was not in his plans. He’s got to find this money because he’s so attracted to Claire and wants to prove himself to her. Will he find the money before he loses his life and will Claire share his attraction? Read Scarlet Fever to find out!

View all my reviews

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Erica Fish

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Scarlet Fever by David Stever is the first book in the Johnny Delarosa Thriller series. David Stever writing style in this book reminded me of an old time thriller where you know what is going to happen but you still can’t believe it happened. His characters are fully developed and has a clout around their personality that he created. The story is a simple story of missing money, mafia, and a detective. Claire wants Johnny to find her the money from her mob-wife mother that was stolen. Will Johnny take the case? Will Claire get what is coming to her nor will everything go wrong? You will be waiting on the edge of your kindle to see how this one ends.

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Erin Wolf

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I give Scarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever, 5 stars.

Private eye Johnny is floored when his drop-dead gorgeous client walks in. She then gives him a hefty retainer and asks him to find money that was owed to her mother. Of course, it’s not that simple. Turns out this is missing mob money from 30 years ago. Now he has to track down long retired mob guys and runs into trouble along the way. He’s not the only one looking and the others will do anything to get the dough. Will he be able to find it? At what cost?

Ok, first off let me say that I’m a huge fan of the old noir detectives. In fact, I’m listening to a Philip Marlowe radio show as I write this. This book more than met my expectations. It reminds you of the old detectives, but in the modern setting. Having Johnny and his buddies a little older is great too. They are seasoned, have learned from their experiences. And of course there’s the bombshell client. Throw in the mob and you have a complete package. The story is so good and gripping. I could not book the book down. Not to mention the many twists and turns a good detective story should have. The secondary characters are the cherry on top of this sundae. I cannot wait to see them all in the next book. I have a new favorite author thanks to this book!

If you like hard-boiled detective stories with an exceptional story and great characters, this book is for you.

View all my reviews

@erinwolf79

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Heather Lovelace

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This thriller had me reeling immediately and I couldn’t devour the pages quickly enough. This was the first book of Stever’s I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed this mystery. The characters were strong and well developed. There were plenty of twists and turns to keep me guessing. There are simply not adequate words to explain how great I found this book except to say I am downloading the next in the series as we speak. For any mystery fan, this is a must read!

Reviewed by @heatherlovelace
View all my reviews

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Michelle Austin

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever was a great 5 star read.

Johnny is a PI and he meets Claire when she walks into his office and wants him to do a job for her. She is looking for 2 million that disappeared 30 years ago. He’s a little suspicious of Claire but agrees to take the job. When Johnny starts to get a little too close things start happening.

Will he get the money for Claire?

Overall this was a thrilling, action packed, edge of your seat read. I was done before I knew it.
This is my first read by David and I really enjoyed it. His writing style pulls you right in and all of the secondary characters added a great element to the story. I enjoy books that keep you guessing and this one nailed it for me. I look forward to reading more from this series. 1-click and get started today.

Reviewed by @mab54615
View all my reviews

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Liz Vrchota

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Who doesn’t love a sexy and fierce lead? Mix it with the good parts of old detective work and classic mystery movies you get the recipe for a great read. I have not had the pleasure of reading anything from David Stever prior to Scarlet Fever, but I am glad this was my first taste as I will be back for more with baited breath.

I loved how this book read like an old movie, yet it is set in present time. All the good stuff I loved watching in older crime movies was strong assets to this story. It was gripping and I had to follow along quickly to figure out how things were going to end. I was pleasantly surprised that I didn’t predict the ending quite right. Another positive with a thriller novel.

I don’t wanna spoil the details for you, think they are well worth discovering yourself. But I will say I adored Johnny and Jean Harlow. The other characters we just as fun to read! Even the ones you want to hate you have to hate to love by the end. I can’t wait to see what the next Johnny Delarosa thriller will hold.

Review by @lizaileen
View all my reviews

~ ♦ ~ ♦ ~ COVER REVEAL ~ ♦ ~ ♦ ~ Diamonds & Deception (Karina Cardinal Mystery, Book 3) by Ellen Butler

 ~  ~  ~ COVER REVEAL ~  ~  ~  ~

Diamonds & Deception (Karina Cardinal Mystery, Book 3) by Ellen Butler

PREORDER NOW – https://amzn.to/32qqdgG

Release Date – October 7, 2019

#KarinaCardinalNovel #fiction #mystery #thriller

Hosted by Itsy Bitsy Book Bits

Genre – Mystery / Thriller

Page Count – 270 pages

Publishing Company – Power to the Pen

Synopsis –

International bestselling and award-winning author Ellen Butler presents book three in the Karina Cardinal mystery series! Fans of Melinda Leigh and J.D. Robb, who love the humor of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum will adore this gripping mystery adventure.

The rainbows-and-unicorns period of her friends-to-lovers relationship with Mike Finnegan officially over, Karina Cardinal is taking a tactical retreat. No way is she calling him for rescue from one of her infamous “scrapes.”

Too bad trouble, if not her middle name, is a close relative.

Sadira Manon, friend and colleague of Karina’s sister Jillian, has been dropping way too much cash on designer labels for a middle school teacher. Even one who moonlights as a jewelry store clerk. But when she’s accused of theft, the loose diamond falling out of her purse is enough for the police to sing the song of their people—”Miranda Rights.”

Karina, Jilly, and Silverthorne Security join forces to investigate who’s setting Sadira up to take a fall, and why. They dig up a shady tangle of Russian mob ties and gambling debts. By the time Karina realizes they’ve dug too deep—and maybe a little too far outside the law—Jillian’s in trouble, and the only way out of this particular pot of hot water is to make that phone call…and hope Mike doesn’t let it go to voice mail.

WEBSITE ~ FACEBOOK ~ TWITTER ~ PINTEREST ~ YOUTUBE ~ INSTAGRAMFACEBOOK GROUP

 

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever – Review by Lyndsey Fairley

Scarlet Fever: A Crime ThrillerScarlet Fever: A Crime Thriller by David Stever
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Scarlet Fever (A Johnny Delarosa Thriller Book 1) by David Stever
5++ stars

I absolutely loved this book. I love a good mystery, a good suspense and this delivered on it all. I had my suspicions on who and why but it did keep me guessing until the end.
These characters were great and the writing made me feel like I was right there with Johnny.
I don’t want to say anything that will give this away but i will say, this story had me hooked from beginning to end, and I can’t wait to read more about Johnny and his jobs.

View all my reviews