My Life Series: Prequel to The Brothers of Camelot by Necie Navone – Review by Elizabeth Sanchez

My Life Series: Box Set: Prequel to Brothers of CamelotMy Life Series: Box Set: Prequel to Brothers of Camelot by Necie Navone
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My Life Series by Necie Navone is quite possibly one of the best series I have ever read. They are a prequel to the Brother of Camelot series, but I loved it more than those. It tells the story of Alessandra Canzano, daughter to a mob boss. She was almost murdered as a child, on the 6th birthday. Since then, she was trained to protect herself and her family, training to take over as the boss of the Family. Its hard enough being born into the Mafia, not being able to even choose your own friends or clothes. Add on to that being trained to be tougher than even your bodyguards, and its safe to say she didn’t have a normal childhood. She is practically raised by her uncle and body guard, and is closer to them than her own father. When she is a teenager she gets a taste of freedom, when she visits the US for her birthday. She has trained her whole life to be a strong leader, but she just wants to be a normal teenager.
My Hidden Life is the first book of the trilogy. It is a coming of age story, about Alessandra, the Princess of the Canzano Family. Her family is part of the Italian mob, and her dad decided, when she was just 6 years old, she will be the one to take over as the boss of the Family. Her uncle Louie has dedicated his life to protect her, as well as train her. Due to the target on her back, her father decides she must be trained to protect herself in any situation, regardless of being a child. She thinks it is fun as a young girl, but soon tires of it and wishes for a normal teenage life. These feelings intensify after she meets a boy, who doesn’t know her past or story, and sparks fly.
My Tragic Life is the second book in the series. The story is written mostly in the perspective of Aless, but with an occasional chapter from the supporting characters. It continues her story, as she gets older, following the responsibilities she carries as the Princess of her Family, essentially a Mafia Princess. With this position comes power, fear, respect, money, but Aless would give it all up to be a normal teenage, who could make her own destiny and choose her own partner. I love the balance the book has, with a little bit of longing and dreams, alongside drama and intense scenes, with a small dash of romance.
My Free Life is the last book in the My Life Series by Necie Navone. It continues telling the story of Alessandra, in her path to freedom. It must be read following My Hidden Life and My Tragic Life, in order to get the full story. This book, like the previous 2, was amazing and full of twists and turns keeping me hooked from start to finish. However, I was left hanging, and now need to move onto the Brother of Camelot series, so I can know if Aless gets her happily ever after.
While these books are listed as part of a prequel, I believe they are strong enough to be a series of its own. The characters are written so well, with emotions and relationships you can feel. I developed feelings for the characters and felt anger, love, loss, fear right along with them. The story and background are solid and realistic. I honestly enjoyed this series so much, and would love to see it turn into a movie! So highly recommend to everyone.

View all my reviews


Reviewed by @way2gosmartguy

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *