Houses of Deception (The Madeline Dawkins Mystery Series Book 6) by Cynthia Hamilton – Review by Angela Packard

Houses of Deception (The Madeline Dawkins Series Book 6)Houses of Deception by Cynthia Hamilton

This is the 6th book in the Madeline Dawkins Mystery Series, but the first that I have read. This book stood alone just great, but find myself wanting to go back and read the series from the beginning to get to know all the characters better.
Madeline runs a catering company and also runs a detective agency with her husband Mike. They are hit with two separate missing person cases at the same time. Madeline feels obligated to take the first as the person missing is Dylan, the son of the man who died saving Madeline. They soon find out it isn’t just Dylan but also his girlfriend. Disappearing without a trace, they start talking to everyone linked to them to find out exactly when the last time they were seen or heard from.
The second case involves a woman from a catering event that Madeline had hosted the night before. The intrigue kept me turning the pages. Kidnapping and a ransom note. Mike and Madeline are in over their heads, but the local police also have their hands full and can’t get there in a reasonable amount of time. Can they figure out what to do or where to look?
I enjoyed Madeline and Mike, how well they worked together. Madeline gets very personally involved and feels genuine. Mike encourages her to go with her gut feelings. I had a great time working the case with them, looking forward to reading more books in this series.

View all my reviews

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *